Skip to main content

The Center for Bright Beams, A National Science Foundation Science and Technology Center

Beam Acceleration Team and Projects

Our Team:

Theme Leaders: Graduate Students: Post Docs:
Matthias Liepe, Cornell Zhaslan Baraissov, Cornell Rachael Farber, U Chicago
Steven Sibener, U Chicago Gabriel Gaitan, Cornell Ben Francis, BYU
Mark Transtrum, BYU Aiden Harbick, BYU Zeming Sun, Cornell
Ajinkya Hire, U Florida
Senior Investigators: Michelle Kelley, Cornell Affiliates:
Tomás Arias, Cornell Alison McMillan, U Chicago Jeffrey Elam, Argonne Lab
Richard Hennig, U Florida Thomas Oseroff, Cornell Don Hartill, Cornell
Matthias Liepe, Cornell Liana Shpani, Cornell George Japaridze, Clark Atlanta
David Muller, Cornell Nathan Sitaraman, Cornell Robert Laxdal, TRIUMF
Steven Sibener, U Chicago Caleb Thompson, U Chicago Larry Wang, Clark Atlanta
Mark Transtrum, BYU Michael Van Duinen, U Chicago
Sarah Willson, U Chicago

Project Titles (PI / Postdoc or Grad Student):

  • Ab initio studies of lattice and electron excitations relevant to SRF performance and inverse-Q behavior (Arias / Kelley)
  • Ab initio study of Nb and Nb3Sn surfaces and interfaces relevant to SRF performance (Arias / Sitaraman)
  • Advanced Growth Methods for Next-Gen SRF Surfaces (Liepe / Gaitan)
  • Detecting and Visualizing Alloy Growth Mechanisms of Nb3Sn and ZrxNb7 that inform Optimal Growth Procedures for Next-Generation SRF Materials (Sibener / Farber, Willson)
  • Electroplating based Growth and Surface Oxides (Liepe / Sun)
  • High-field Nb3Sn (Liepe / Shpani)
  • Investigating the Atomic and Micron-scale Morphological Development of Nb3Sn leading to Smooth Homogeneous Thin Films (Sibener / Farber, Willson)
  • Nb3Sn Composition, Strain and Electronic Structure (Muller / Barraissov)
  • Optimizing surface layers for SRF Performance (Transtrum / Francis)
  • SRF Surfaces by Design (Liepe / Oseroff)
  • Surface scattering studies that connect Atomic-Scale Structure and Dynamics to the Superconductivity of SRF Materials by Design (Sibener / McMillan, Thompson, Van Duinen)
  • Time-Dependent Ginzburg-Landau studies of realistic materials and surfaces (Transtrum / Harbick)
  • Thermodynamics and superconducting properties of novel SRF superconductors (Hennig / Hire)